Navigate Up
Sign In
Tigran Sargsyan took part in Summit of Heads of SCO States

Tigran Sargsyan took part in Summit of Heads of SCO States


From June 13 to 14 the Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Tigran Sargsyan took part in the meeting of the Council of Heads of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Member States, which was held in Bishkek (the Kyrgyz Republic) under the chairmanship of Kyrgyzstan.
The Summit attendees discussed the current state and prospects of cooperation within the SCO in such areas as global security, regional stability, countering extremism, terrorism and drug trafficking, economic development, industry and cooperation in the humanitarian sphere.
The main outcome document adopted by the SCO Members was the Bishkek Declaration which reflects the parties’ vision of further development of the SCO’s activities and confirms the position of the Member States on current regional and international problems. This document also presents coordinated assessments on current international and regional issues as well as records the initiative of the organization to prepare a UN Convention on the Rights of Youth.
In addition, following the results of the Summit, more than 20 documents were signed at the level of Heads of Member States, Heads of ministries and departments and international organizations. Among them are the program of development of interregional cooperation of the SCO Member States, concept of cooperation in the sphere of digitalization and information and communication technology, “road map” for further activities of the contact group “SCO – Afghanistan”, Memorandum of Understanding with the World Tourism Organization as well as memoranda of understanding with the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, the UN Food and Agriculture Organization, Secretariat of the UN Economic Commission for Europe, the Astana International Financial Centre, the intergovernmental agreement on cooperation in the sphere of mass media.
After Kyrgyzstan, Russia will take over the SCO presidency. The next summit of the organization will be held in Chelyabinsk on July 22-23, 2020.
For reference
The SCO Member States include eight countries: the Republic of India, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan.
Four countries have a status of observer with the SCO: the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Belarus, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Mongolia.
The SCO dialogue partners include six countries: the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Republic of Turkey and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.