Navigate Up
Sign In
EAEU and SCO deepen cooperation

EAEU and SCO deepen cooperation


On June 13 in Bishkek (Kyrgyz Republic) the Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Tigran Sargsyan and SCO Secretary General Vladimir Norov discussed prospects for further cooperation between the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO). The meeting was held on the eve of the meeting of the Council of Heads of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Member States.
Tigran Sargsyan emphasized the importance of intensifying cooperation between the EAEU and the SCO given the fact that three Member States of the Eurasian Economic Union are members of the SCO, Belarus is represented as an observer and Armenia - as a dialogue partner. In addition, the parties have an important associated agenda which is aimed at sustainable, systematic and stable development of the region. “Transport, logistics, energy and digitalization could be common areas of cooperation within the competence of organizations. The latter directly concerns the development of standards, including those related to transport and logistics”, the Chairman of the EEC Board said.
Vladimir Norov agreed on the common areas for the development of dialogue and paid special attention to the transport infrastructure, because nowadays upgrading the transport and logistics infrastructure is one of the key areas of activities for the Shanghai Cooperation Organization. The SCO seeks to achieve a paperless trade which should significantly facilitate the trade between the countries and will have a positive impact on the transport and logistics sector.
Tigran Sargsyan noted that the paperless trade and customs regulation are priority areas for the Eurasian Economic Union as well. He stressed that it was important for two organizations to discuss their agendas. This will eliminate current barriers and create no new ones.
In this regard, the parties agreed to exchange information between the EEC and SCO Secretariats on a regular basis.
Tigran Sargsyan and Vladimir Norov discussed some issues of cooperation within international organizations. In particular, the possibility of holding a joint meeting on the development of transport and logistics in the SCO-EAEU-ESCAP format. The parties also discussed the prospect of formalizing relations between the EAEU and the SCO by signing a Memorandum.
For reference
The SCO Member States are eight countries: the Republic of India, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan.
Four countries have a status of observer with the SCO: the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Belarus, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Mongolia.
The SCO dialogue partners include six countries: the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Republic of Turkey and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.