Sign In
SEEC approved granting Uzbekistan and Cuba Observer State status at EAEU

SEEC approved granting Uzbekistan and Cuba Observer State status at EAEU


Heads of the Eurasian Economic Union Member States decided to grant the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Republic of Cuba the Observer State status at the EAEU at the meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council held on December 11. The presidents of these countries have previously put forward the initiatives to interact with the Union in that space.

The Observer State status at the Union is contemplated by the Treaty on the EAEU. The Observer State may send its representative authorized to interact with the EEC on a regular basis to the place of stay of the Eurasian Economic Commission.

The representative, his/her Apparatus staff and other representatives of the Observer State may participate, by invitation, in meetings of the Commission’s Board, the Council and advisory bodies at the EEC. It is also possible for the Head of State and Government of the Observer State to attend, by invitation, meetings of the Supreme Council and the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council.

The State being granted the Observer status is obliged to refrain from any actions that may prejudice interests of the Union and its Member States as well as objectives of the Treaty on the EAEU.

For reference

Uzbekistan is actively expanding trade and economic cooperation with the
EAEU countries. For instance, the total trade turnover of Uzbekistan
with the Member States doubled from 4.5 bln dollars to 9.1 bln dollars in 2016-2019. Nowadays, the share of Uzbekistan's foreign trade with the EAEU is 30% and the volume of agricultural exports exceeds 75%.

The population of Uzbekistan is 30.6 mln people. The country's GDP at purchasing power parity is about 223 bln dollars. The foreign trade turnover is 22.9 bln dollars, including export amounting to 11.5 bln dollars (of which about 20% is accounted for by the EAEU countries) and import amounting to 11.4 bln dollars (about 55% from the EAEU countries).

Deepening comprehensive trade and economic cooperation with the Member States of the Commonwealth of Independent States not being members of the Union is generally a priority of the EAEU's international activities.

The EAEU interaction with Cuba as the Observer State at the Union develops the previously formed cooperation mechanisms between the EEC and the Government of the Republic of Cuba within the Memorandum of Understanding concluded in 2018 according to which the joint working group functions.

The dialogue with the EAEU is considered by the Cuban side as an important element of reviving trade and economic relations with traditional partners of the Republic of Cuba on the Eurasian continent and an incentive to raise cooperation to a new decent level.

The development of trade and economic cooperation between the EAEU Member States and Cuba has a serious potential for growth. At year-end 2019, the trade turnover of the EAEU countries with Cuba amounted to 214.7 mln dollars, including export amounting to 197.1 mln dollars and import amounting to 17.6 mln dollars. In 2018, an all-time high level of trade turnover between the EAEU and Cuba (417.5 mln dollars) was recorded since 2010.​