Navigate Up
Sign In
Tigran Sargsyan Attended the Summit of Heads of the SCO Member States

Tigran Sargsyan Attended the Summit of Heads of the SCO Member States


On June 9-10, Tigran Sargsyan, Chairman of the Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) attended the meeting of the Council of Heads of State of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Member States, which was held in Qingdao (China).

The Qingdao Declaration, which documented the positions of the Heads of States regarding the current world situation and defined the organization’s approaches to addressing the pressing concerns, became the principal outcome document adopted by the SCO Member States. In addition, the document outlines the key areas of global and regional cooperation of the states for the short-term.

Summarizing the results of the meeting of the Council of the SCO Heads of State, the memorandum of Understanding on cooperation between the SCO Secretariat and the UNESCO was signed. In total, more than 20 documents were discussed during the summit, concerning, in particular, expanding of cooperation in economic sphere.

The Presidents of the Russian federation, the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Kyrgyz Republic emphasized the importance interaction of the EAEU states with the SCO states, and specifically, in the integration of Eurasian Economic Union with the “One Belt and One Road” (OBOR) initiative of the People’s Republic of China.

Xi Jinping, President of the PRC, thanked Tigran Sargsyan, Chairman of the EEC Board, for taking part in the work of the SCO summit.

Fact Sheet

The SCO comprises eight member states: the Republic of India, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, and the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Four countries possess the status of the SCO observer states: the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Belarus, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Mongolia.

Six countries are the SCO dialogue partners: the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Republic of Turkey, and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.